Who We Are

An ideal central location for business, Howard County is within two “truck days” of ninety percent of the United States – meaning your semi shipment is just two days away from the majority of your customers.

Kansas City is two short hours away from the town of Fayette, and a drive to St. Louis takes just two and a half hours. There are six major highways in Howard County. They are: U.S. Route 40, Route 3, Route 5, Route 87, Route 124, Route 240.

The county has a total area of 471 square miles (1,219 square km), of which 466 square miles (1206 square km) is land and 5 square miles (12 square km) is water. It is bordered by the counties of Chariton (northwest), Randolph (northeast), Boone (southeast), Cooper (south) and Saline (west).


The “Mother of Counties”

Howard County was created under an act of the general assembly, approved on January 13, 1816. It was named for Benjamin Howard, first Missouri Territory governor. Howard County was the ninth organized county in the Missouri Territory and was… Read More.


Howard County Economic Development Council